A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Maternity Bag Essentials

on December 22, 2012

Now that I am 30 weeks pregnant I figured I had better start preparing my hospital bag!

I was so much more prepared last time! I guess it wasn’t getting close to Christmas last time though! I have been so busy trying to buy presents, decorate the house and write my Christmas cards that everything else has taken a back seat.

However I am now panicking somewhat that I should be more organised! Especially since my little girl came 3 weeks early with only one days notice and this baby is also, like she was, measuring small.

I am having a planned c-section so know that baby will be coming at at least 39 weeks and I will be in hospital a little longer than the norm so will no doubt end up like a pack horse! However there are obviously a few essentials that I will need and from my experience last time couldn’t do without…

For me:

maternity bag montage 1

I’ve got my toiletries sorted out. I’ve bought a Sanctuary face wash, Dove body wash, Herbal Essences shampoo and conditioner, a Nivea deodorant and Colgate toothbrush and toothpaste. I already had a Molton Brown body cream and some travel size Lancome moisturisers too which I will use, as well as my Batiste dry shampoo! (I looked like an oil slick last time!) I also swear by Lansinoh’s Nipple Cream and Breast Pads, I used them last time and they were fab and I always sleep with an eye mask too, a must have if you are in a room with lots of other women and lights are going on and off! I will take my basic make up supplies too… or at least have hubby or my mum ship them in post op if I forget!

Strangely I am told by my local chemist (or rather my poor hubby was told in quite some detail! that tena lady are fantastic as maternity pads??? The chemist apparently got all the promotional materials out and almost launched into a demonstration for my poor hubby so he took her word for it and I now have several packs! Hope she’s right!

I have some sleep bras from last time but will probably go and get fitted for some new sleep and nursing bras and as it was summer last time I may also invest in some new pyjamas, I love the above sets from Mamas & Papas and have also seen some at Castaluna.co.uk, so may have to treat myself!

For the baby…

hospital bag montage 2

I have just dug out all my old baby clothes and as my little girl was only 5lbs I have NO IDEA what size clothes to pack! I will probably pop in some 9-10lb ss vests, ls vests and sleepsuits for now, but have washed a lot of the tiny baby too just in case! I’ve got a couple of snow suits and some hats and booties. However despite having a tonne of bibs and mitts I seem to now have none! I probably dished them out amongst friends, so need to buy some more. I love the new bandana style bibs. There didn’t seem to be as many about when I had my daughter so I may get a few of them and use my existing pile of muslins!

I am planning to breastfeed or at least do combination but I will still pop a couple of Tommee Tippee bottles and ready prepared cartons in, just in case. I breastfed until 4 and a half months last time but did introduce an evening bottle at 2 and a half months. I am under no illusion that it will be harder this time round, I can’t sit for over an hour at a time feeding as I did with my little girl as I will have a toddler needing attention too, so am fully prepared to do combination this time and as it is Tommee Tipppee that I used last time so will do the same again as they worked a treat for me. I just need to buy some new teats and possibly some new bottles.

I’ve got nappy bags, cotton balls and a pack of Pampers New Baby nappies. One thing I won’t do this time is stock up like crazy as you are then left with tonnes of nappies you just don’t need. I will certainly buy as I go!

maternity bag montage 3

I will also take our Kindle with my latest Sophie Kinsella Mini Shopaholic read on, as well as a puzzle book… took my mind off the waiting last time! and I certainly won’t forget my camera and phone and their chargers!!!

 I know I will need our Britax car seat etc on the day we leave and intend to buy a head hugger for this as my little girl looked lost and so small last time, I didn’t know back then that I could buy a head hugger, I wish I had! I of course need to pack some clothes too! Note to self… do not forget your clothes and underwear!!! OMG now that would be a nightmare!!!

I am hoping that I have covered everything off, my mind feels like fudge so any suggestions always welcome! What did you pack???

x

2 responses to “Maternity Bag Essentials

  1. I just packed mine, it’s crazy how much you forget that you need and yet we still over pack. Sounds like you have it covered. x

I like comments, please leave me a reply

