A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Reader Appreciation Award

on December 11, 2012

I have some wonderful Blog followers out there and was recently awarded another lovely blog award, The Reader Appreciation Award, from one of them, the lovely Missuswolf who hosts Missuswolf’s Storyland, a fabulous blog dedicated to her love of literature and her own amazing writing skills. If you do get the chance, you must stop by and some of you may like to check out her children’s book, The Ruby of Egypt.

This is how the Award works:

* I have to nominate 10-15 blogs that I love to read (or just the one’s I read the most) and give them this award.

* 10 questions were given to me to answer from Missuswolf and then I am to ask alternate questions to those I nominate.

So… here’s my ten questions to answer:

What book have you read that effected you the most?

I don’t tend to read intense books, I read autobiographies and lighthearted fiction. The ones that really captured my attention, stayed in my mind, made me laugh out loud, and to which the younger me could relate are the Sophie Kinsella Shopaholic series. I was also very moved by Marian Keyes “Is there anybody out there”.

What do you do  to relax?

I have to admit I really am not the best at relaxing! lol! However I guess I get the majority of my relaxation these days when I get a lie in from my hubby OR I simply switch of by watching some of my trash TV. In an ideal world though I’d probably visit a spa for the whole day or at least head out for a treatment, when I was younger and had more of a disposable income that was certainly how I would relax!

Do you listen to music whilst reading/writing – if so – what type of music?

I only ever get to listen to music in the car nowadays to be honest, so often it just tends to be the radio (local stations). In the rare times we have friends for dinner I like a bit of classical, jazz or chill out style music.

Which person has inspired you the most in life and why?

May sound cliche but probably my parents. I have learnt a lot from them, some good, some bad! lol! However they have inspired me to be who I am today, they have supported me in my decisions and through my disability, they have put up with my feisty temperament probably more than I care to admit and have consoled me when I needed it. My dad has inspired me to strive to achieve and my mum’s caring nature has inspired me to look out for my friends and family and to show compassion and understanding of others.

What is your favourite season of the year?

Summer! Most certainly the summer! I love the heat, I love the sun, I love loose clothing and being warm! I love spending time outdoors in the sun and playing with my little girl in the garden and at the park.

If you could spend a day in the life of someone else, who would it be and why?

I am really struggling with this one… I’m asking myself the question and hoping that I will be inspired and a face will pop into my mind for a really justifiable, worthwhile reason, but my mind is just totally blank! I may have to come back to this one!

What is your favourite holiday destination and why?

Our honeymoon in Mauritius was stunning, the people were wonderful and we had such a special and relaxing time. However I also loved Mexico, the resort was tailored to our every need, beautifully landscaped, on the beach, a host of restaurants and style of food to choose from, wonderful and friendly people and a lively atmosphere too. So either would be top of my list again!

If a film was made of your life, what would it be called and why?

My husband quite simply says for my life pre-marriage and kids… Bridget Jones! lol! or in the here and now and to incorporate the past “What if?” as apparently I spend most of my life questioning things, looking back on things or worrying about what might happen… Have to say I can’t argue! lol!

I love thinking of names for character’s in my books. What are your favourite male and female names and why?

Oh gosh this is hard, male names I like the names Benjamin, Joshua and Jacob for boys and for girls… wow so many but pretty names like Grace and Sophia spring to mind

And finally …are you a coffee or tea drinker?

Tea! A total tea drinker. Don’t really enjoy coffee.

So now I have to think up 10 questions for those I nominate…. I’m looking at a theme of ‘then and now’ so here are my questions:

1. What was your favourite childhood book and why?

2. What was your favourite childhood TV programme and why?

3. Did you have a special teddy or toy when you were younger and what were they called?

4. What game / activity would best sum up your childhood?

5. Do you have a special childhood holiday memory and if so what is it and why?

6. Where is your favourite current holiday location and why?

7. What’s your ideal family day together?

8. What is your favourite children’s book today?

9. What is your favourite children’s TV programme / presenter today and why?

10.Would you like to be a child today or back in the era when you grew up and why?

I now nominate:

Mummy Glitzer

Not My Year Off

The 40 Year Old Domestic Goddess

Love From Mummy

Tea & Biscotti

Mummy Daddy and Me Makes Three

Mother.Wife.Me

Northern Mum

Jamie Oliver

Homeless Mummy

2 responses to “Reader Appreciation Award

  1. Notmyyearoff says:

    Loved reading this!! Mauritius just sounds amazing!! I’d love to go one day, maybe in a few years time. I was reading the inspiration one thinking about my parents too. Your answer is really lovely. Thanks for nominating me!! I’ll get onto these ASAP!! 🙂

    • amummysview says:

      aww thank you lovely that’s so nice of you to say. Yes I can recommend Mauritius! Was gutted to receive this fab enticing invite back on our 5th wedding anniversary this year… so not something we couldn’t do … maybe for our 10th! lol! x

I like comments, please leave me a reply

