A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

It’s all just a little bit of history repeating itself….

on November 28, 2012

Today I am 28 weeks pregnant and had my first antenatal check up in a while. I dragged my achey, cold laden body out of bed at the crack of dawn on my child-free day off and headed off to our local hospital for a 9am appointment.

I had all the usual obs by the first midwife, she managed, thank god, to take blood for my 28 week check without massacring me. My usual midwife can’t manage to get any  normally and I end up bruised before she sends me to the lab at the hospital! This time was hassle free thankfully!

I then waited half an hour or so to see my consultant and ended up actually seeing one of his registrars. I normally don’t mind a registrar but this guy didn’t seem to know a lot and left a lot of the checks and decisions to the midwife (which didn’t instill me with much confidence!) However I am glad she was on the ball! The midwife measured my bump and said I was measuring small and suggested that I have growth scans going forward to monitor me. This came as no surprise as my daughter always measured small and I have been convinced my bump is a lot smaller than others at my stage! It’s all just a little bit of history repeating itself!

However it did set a little panic button off inside me! As you may have read in my posts about my first pregnancy my daughter suddenly dropped too low in her measurements at the end of 36 weeks and within 2 days she was being brought 3 weeks early! I now have visions of this happening again and it’s making me revisit all kinds of things in my head as well as things such as should I bring forward the date that I intend to leave work, as well as listing all the things I still need to get / order.

I have been debating whether to use a buggy board or buggy pod or whether to get a double pushchair. I think in all honesty my daughter won’t use the buggy board. I think she will want to sit in the buggy like the new baby, so that could rule that idea out. However I am very aware that my daughter will be 28 months old and if I do invest in a double buggy then I may not end up using it for very long so it is a lot of expenditure. Decisions decisions!

I still have to get a new mattress for my Mamas and Papas Moses Basket and some new bottles / teats for my Tommee Tippee range which I love. I am hoping to breastfeed but think it is likely I will do combination feeding so want to be stocked up. I gave a bottle from two and half months at night last time and went onto bottle fully at four and half months so have most things I need like the sterilizer etc. I also have my eye on the fabulous product that is Snugglebundl. I had a c-section first time round and despite having had nine hip operations I was shocked at how much I struggled in the early few weeks. With a c-section planned this time round I think this product looks great and could be invaluable in helping me lift my baby up and down and take them upstairs on an evening at times when I am home alone and hubby at work (especially with my bad hips and back too)

All in all in myself I am plodding along. I am feeling baby kick lots, it’s as if I have a small Riverdance cast in there! I guess that’s a good sign though! My hips haven’t been as bad this last week. I have had one or two moments where my hips have given away but overall the pain has been a little less than it has been. I’ve been plagued with heartburn for the last 2 -3 weeks (as I was last time) so have resorted to glugging from the Gaviscon bottle and went and stocked up on my free prescription again today! It normally kicks in around 4pm and goes on till the early hours, but as I write this today I am feeling it already and it’s only lunch time! I was pacing the floorboards till the early hours the other night. I just keep dreaming of how it will disappear as soon as baby comes! Two and a half months and counting! (if not earlier!) I’ve got a lovely cold this week too, just in time for going back to work so got the ginger tea, honey and glycerine and lemon to hand! lol! Bump does seem to have grown a bit in the last week or so, even though she’s measuring small.

I am loving some of my new maternity purchases from Mamas and Papas and KLM Maternity. I love how comfortable the maternity / nursing tops are that I have bought from Mamas and Papas (see one of them in my bump pic above), they are going to come in so handy over the winter! I am especially excited to wear my sparkly Mama.licious dress from KLM for my Christmas nights out too!

Are you pregnant at the minute? how are you getting on?

2 responses to “It’s all just a little bit of history repeating itself….

  1. I am not having the best time of it just now. I’m 31 weeks pregnant and passed out this week and broke my nose not good. I hope history doesn’t repeat itself for you and everything is ok. I would recommend the Baby City Jogger Double I had it for my two and it was fab x

I like comments, please leave me a reply

