A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Friday Pick{ture Book} – There’s a House Inside My Mummy (Giles Andreae)

on November 23, 2012

I’m taking part in ChildLedChao’s Friday Pick{ture} Book linky again this week and really wanted to share a new book we have bought entitled There’s a House Inside My Mummy (Giles Andreae and Vanessa Cabban, Orchard Books, 2001)

“There’s a house inside my mummy Where my little brother grows, or maybe it’s my little sister No one really knows.”

This is a lovely story of a little boy waiting for his new brother or sister to arrive. He has been told by his mummy and daddy that it’s a lovely place and he once lived there too.

It explains all about how baby needs the house to have lots of room to grow and it follows the little boy’s imagination as to whether the house has a kitchen or windows and how he cuddles and talks to the baby in its house  through the tummy telephone, culminating in how he can’t wait to meet him.

I think this is a lovely book that perfectly captures the concept of a new addition from a child’s point of view and I hope it will help in explaining more about our new baby to my little girl.

If you have a favourite book why not link up with Friday Pick{ture} Book across at ChildLedChaos?

4 responses to “Friday Pick{ture Book} – There’s a House Inside My Mummy (Giles Andreae)

  1. Mum2BabyInsomniac says:

    I bought this for Iyla today! Found it in a charity shop for 20p, she loves it! X

    • amummysview says:

      my daughter hasn’t actually let me read it to her much yet! lol! I love it but she’s obsessed with her Disney Princess books this week!I thought I would feature as a fave though as I think it’s lovely x

  2. daftmamma says:

    I’m going to have to pick this one up, looks like a good read!

I like comments, please leave me a reply

