A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Minnie Mouse Haven

on November 18, 2012

I recently entered a competition via Tots100 and Rated People to win a room makeover for my little girl. As we have decided to move her into her own big girls room ahead of our new arrival making an appearance so that she had time to settle in and didn’t feel like she was just being moved for the new baby.

I unfortunately didn’t win the competition but had so much fun compiling my concepts for the room and researching where I could get products that we decided to make good use of all the work and get busy on the makeover!

I had asked my daughter what type of bedroom she would like and have her a few choices, including Minnie Mouse and Disney Princesses.

It was Minnie Mouse however that was a streets ahead winner so that’s what my research had been based around.

I found some great products via a fab company called Childrens Rooms, as well as a few bits on Ebay so didn’t hesitate in going straight to these locations to make my purchases. I have to say the people at Children’s Rooms were so helpful I would highly recommend them to anyone! The service was first class and the products arrived within a day or two of ordering them. They were also so sweet and after seeing my competition entry very very kindly sent my daughter a night light, rug and pop up storage tidy for her new room, which she was absolutely over the moon with!

The room had been our spare guest room and was painted cream, with a shabby chic style decor, which included vintage photo frames and pictures, a pendant chandelier and vintage hat boxes. Admittedly over the last year or two it had also become our dumping ground! Anything without a home had landed in there so it took some digging out! However in just two and a half days we managed to transform it into this…..

A Minnie Mouse Haven for a little princess.

Hubby and I have to say we are rather proud of ourselves and most importantly… our daughter LOVES it and even helped mummy move all of her clothes etc in!

She is taking a little settling at night as it is a different environment but I am sure it won’t take long. The fact she jumps excitedly into bed and wants to play in her new room and read books in her book corner is certainly a good sign to me!

One less worry to have come February hopefully!

x

6 responses to “Minnie Mouse Haven

  1. notmyyearoff says:

    That’s gorgeous! Once she’s used to it I bet she loves it!

  2. Mama Syder says:

    Awww so cute! Brilliant makeover x

  3. daftmamma says:

    Wow! And doing this when pregnant?! Thats fantastic and I bet she LOVES it!

    • amummysview says:

      Have to say with my hips bad too I didn’t do much lifting, moving or anything low so my poor hubby got all that but I coordinated and contributed! lol. Thanks honey xxx

I like comments, please leave me a reply

