A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

and the verdict is….

on October 10, 2012

So on Tuesday we had our 20 week scan and I am pleased to report all went well.

Baby is developing well and there doesn’t appear to be any problems or concerns.

Today I had an appointment with my consultant and it has been confirmed that baby will be delivered by c-section at 39 weeks, due to my hips, and as my little girl was small and brought 3 weeks early I will be monitored closely to ensure that history doesn’t repeat itself.

I am glad that I know where I stand and that the consultant and midwife instantly recognised what the path should be.

They’ve also prescribed me codeine for my hips, as my regular readers will know I am disabled and have problems with my hip and back anyway. However pregnancy really seems to take it’s toll on them. I struggled when I was pregnant with my little girl, but managed to get through with the aid of my crutches and support of family and friends. This time is the same, although the pain is a lot more severe and I’ve been using my crutches more frequently in recent weeks (not easy when out and about and with a toddler on the loose, but getting by!). It’s coming to something when the physio is slightly perplexed as to how they can help you… but that’s for another post!

I haven’t been sleeping well, practically since month two, and frankly I am exhausted! I guess this is exacerbated by being uncomfortable with my hips in the night too, so hopefully the codeine will help and I will manage more than 4 hours sleep a night! (at least before the baby comes!!!)

So with all fine and well and my plans in place all that was left was to find out if our little girl would be getting a baby brother or sister. I’ve been convinced throughout that it’s a boy but hubby had a strong feeling it was another little girl. We set a bet of loser buys the takeaway that night!

So…..

Who was buying?…..

ME!

Our little girl is going to be a big sister to a baby sister!

We’re having another GIRL!!!

12 responses to “and the verdict is….

  1. Tea&Biscotti says:

    Oooooh congrats!!!! How lovely, they can play tea parties together!! You must be over the frikkin moon!!! :-)))) xxx

  2. Congratulations, I am following your pregnancy.

    • amummysview says:

      aww thank you. fab blog, like your messy play post, i did that with my little girl, great fun! x

      • Blogging Mummy says:

        Aww thanks hun for the lovely comment about my blog, im trying my best as im quite new to it all. Messy play is so much fun.

      • amummysview says:

        I’ve only been going since Feb and have had a few breaks as life gets in the way, my advice, just enjoy it, write about what you want to and get involved with what you want to πŸ™‚ x

  3. I guessed girl – probably because I have two girls πŸ˜‰ Two girls are wonderful. Boys are wonderful too, of course! πŸ™‚ Glad the scan went well and I hope the new prescription helps with the pain :hugs: xx

  4. Mummy Plum says:

    Congratulations! A sister, how lovely. I do think it’s nice when you have same sex siblings and they can play together. x

  5. Totally missed this little announcement! Well done honey – how exciting. We want to try again early next year so here’s hoping we can be bump buddies (albeit you’ll be dropping yours well before ours xx)

I like comments, please leave me a reply

