A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Children’s Book Week – Who are your Hero’s and Heroines?

on October 3, 2012

This week 1-7th October is The Booktrust’s Children’s Book Week, an annual celebration of reading for pleasure, aimed at children of primary school age.

This year’s theme is Hero’s and Heroine’s, with the aim of encouraging children to enjoy reading by identify with the characters and talking about their favourite storybook hero or heroine.

For me, back when I was younger, my heroes and heroines may have been the likes of the children from the Famous Five books or Sweet Valley High, the Princess from A Little Princess or even Mildred in the Worst Witch! In the current day I can well imagine that Harry Potter would score highly on the list!

My little girl may only be two but I have read to her every single day practically since she was born, it is part and parcel of our bedtime routine. Anyone who reads my blog regularly will know my passion for reading and will have seen my previous book related posts, such as A Little Reading Each day Goes a Long Way. You can also see some of our favourite reads here too.

Whilst my little girl might currently be too young to tell me who her hero or heroine is I can hazard a guess that the In the Night Garden characters, Charlie and Lola or Peppa Pig would rate highly with her for a start! Our book collection is ever growing and we love picking out a story together at bedtime!

During Children’s Book Week, schools, libraries and venues across the UK hold events and activities aimed at encouraging children to enjoy reading for pleasure, as well as exploring libraries and bookshops, and perhaps even starting to write themselves. Each year The Booktrust makes a range of resources available to organisations and parents to enable them to run fun and engaging activities.

I personally can’t sing any more about the benefits of reading to and with your children, I think it has so many benefits for them and it is proven that it improves their confidence and learning abilities. If you don’t already, pick up a book and enjoy some time with your children. My daughter and I have great fun and giggles giving characters funny voices and acting out some of the story lines, there’s so much fun to be had!

To find out more about Children’s Book Week, events in your area or to be inspired to try some new reads you can visit the Booktrust website where there’s a wealth of information including  a 2012 Best Book Guide. One of our favourites, The Signing Mermaid by Julia Donaldson, is in there in the 5 years and under category.

Do you have a favourite book or who was / are your past and present hero’s and heroines? I’d love to hear!

Happy reading and happy Children’s Book Week!

x

I like comments, please leave me a reply

