A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Potty Training – To Train or Not to Train

on September 13, 2012

Way back in April I wrote a post called Potty Tales about how my little girl had taken herself to her potty of her own accord and in June in one of my Terrible Twosday posts entitles meltdown and poo gate I shared a nightmare potty and poo experience. To date I haven’t forced the potty and everything had gone quiet on this front and she hasn’t been remotely interested in taking a seat in months. But with a new baby on the way I really want to start potty training and see if I can get my daughter nappy free by the new year as I feel it will make things so much easier for me and I was wondering if I missed a key cue when she first showed interest.

I’ve been reading up on the Huggies Potty Training website about how to get started and their key signs that your child is ready. I was a bit disheartened though as it said ideally they should be showing at least three of the signs and I was lucky if my daughter was showing one! However I had her 2 year annual review with the Health Visitor and she basically told me to just let her wander around nappy free or with just pants on if we are in the house for a couple of days and encourage her to tell me if she needs the toilet and to regularly encourage the potty or training seat over the course of the day. She said if I had repeated accidents over a day or two and no joy to go back to nappies as she probably wasn’t ready and to try again in a few weeks /months.

So… I decided to take the plunge and go for it. I have been procrastinating for so long now but I thought I would seize the moment!

When I got home I got the potty and put my little girl in her big girl pants and explained to her what we were going to do and that she needed to tell mummy and daddy if she needed a wee wee or poo poo and that we would be using the potty and / or toilet training seat. I also let her see me go to the toilet ( not that she hasn’t before, but made a point of it this time round) and told her every time I was going myself and why.

So… Day One

Well… first off, mid morning, no wee but at nap time I put a nappy on her just in case and she did go in her nappy during her sleep. Mid afternoon we had an accident on the sofa and she didn’t seem to be concerned that she was wet she just said “oh oh”. I explained that it didn’t matter and it was an accident but that’s why she had to tell mummy and daddy. Late afternoon I noticed she appeared to be shuffling and uncomfortable, so we encouraged her to sit on the potty and despite initial protests she did use the potty so we made sure we gave her lots of praise and she looked really pleased with herself. However around half an hour to 45 minutes later just before bedtime we had an accident on the sofa again. We took her upstairs to get her cleaned and ready for bed and to cut a long story short it resulted in a second potty hit of the number two variety. She really hadn’t been sure and was distressed and didn’t want to sit on the potty but obviously really needed to go bless her. Afterwards we praised her lots but when she saw it she looked shocked and said she didn’t like it (don’t blame her! lol!). However we explained that we understood and that it would become easier and it meant that she was becoming a big girl and doing what mummy and daddy do and we praised her lots. So… overall it was a mixed day. That night the night nappy went on mind you I am not that adventurous yet! 🙂

 

Day Two

Well unfortunately day two was a total disaster. In the first two and a half hours of the day we had 5 accidents. Despite me sitting my daughter down on the potty every half hour and asking her if she needed to go she got absolutely hysterical every time we sat her on the potty  and screamed to be off, often having an accident right next to the potty within seconds. I spent the whole morning clearing up accidents from one end of my living room to the other. My daughter seemed to get more upset and to be honest I got more stressed. By lunch time we were back in our nappies and the house was a lot calmer!

It became clear to me in this short period that she just isn’t ready yet. It’s like her brain isn’t yet connecting the feeling of needing to go to the toilet with the action. She was so upset at times I just couldn’t put either of us through any more. SO… for now potty training is on hold. Some may see this as me giving up too early but for me it just seems sensible before I scare her away from the potty completely. We will continue to talk about the toilet, read her potty book and I will encourage her to tell me if she needs to go but for now, it’s potty TIME OUT! 🙂 I am a bit disappointed as I had almost 3 weeks off work and was hoping to get potty training well under way, but we’ll just have to try again another time.

If anyone has any similar experiences or hints and tips I would love to hear from you!

4 responses to “Potty Training – To Train or Not to Train

  1. She’s only just two, it’s still early IMO. I have no useful potty training tips as both of mine just followed their friends while at nursery so I just moved to pants when the nursery told me to! I had no intention of getting MG out of nappies until DG was at least six months old (there’s 2yrs 3 months between them) but MG was day dry at 2yrs 5 months of her own accord. MG is a very heavy sleeper though, so at 5.5 she still wears night-time pants and is wet every night. DG was 2yrs 9 months because I was far too lazy and didn’t try so she learnt when I was doing a work contract for a couple of months and she was back at nursery! Nappies are so much easier than rushing to the toilet when they need to go if you’re out and about! Both of mine were day dry 100% within three days, so I’m all for leaving it until they’re ready 🙂

    • amummysview says:

      wow three days! That’s fab! My LO is only at nursery one day so it really will be down to me and my mum (cringe) but I am sure we will get there when we are ready! lol! There will be 2 years 4 months between my daughter and the new baby so here’s hoping I have the same luck as you and am not chasing wee pools around the house with a baby in my arms! lol xxx

  2. […] another WordPress.com site « Potty Training – To Train or Not to Train Sep […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

