A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Babystyle Oyster Review

on August 9, 2012

I’ve been meaning to write this post for AGES! I wanted to share my initial buggy / pram / car seat experiences with other mums but I just hadn’t got round to it.

When looking for my first pram / pushchair I knew I wanted and needed something lightweight, easy to use and that would grow with my little girl and fit into my car boot easilyTherefore a travel system was top of my list. I have to admit I only actually looked in 3 shops and of the 3 two were independents and both recommended the Babystyle Oyster to me. After having a look I was instantly sold.

The Babystyle Oyster is lightweight, with an easy fold system and you can slot a pram top, pushchair top and car seat onto the chassis.

Having used the Oyster for two years now I can safely assess what I see as it’s pros and cons.

The Pros:

  • It is lightweight
  • The chassis has an easy fold mechanism, collapses compactly and fits in a medium family size car boot
  • The wheels can be locked and unlocked
  • The chassis has an adjustable handle height, great for short ass me and towering hubby to alternate between!
  • You can choose from the Babystyle Oyster car seat, a Maxi Cosi car seat or a Britax car seat, all slot easily onto the chassis with no need for adaptors, I loved being able to lift my daughter on and off the chassis and into the car without disturbing her (I used the Britax baby Safe car seat and can see that you can now get an Oyster colour coordinated head hugger to go with it which sounds good)
  • The pushchair seat can be reclined to several positions and can be placed on the chassis forward or rear facing
  • The hood is extendible (with a zip) so provides excellent cover
  • The pushchair seat footrest can be adjusted to keep little legs up or lowered to enable a more upright seated position as children grow
  • The pram cot has a breathable bottom
  • The pushchair seat folds flat and compact for transportation
  • The pushchair seat adjusts easily with a release handle at the back and this is also how it folds flat for storage and transportation
  • the pushchair has an integral insect net / sunshade that rolls away compact in the hood. (I think the newer version comes from the footrest up over)
  • You get raincovers for both the pushchair and pram cot top as standard
  • It was reasonably priced

The Cons:

  • The release clips on the pushchair are a little fiddly and take some getting used to, I found them quite slim and shallow and it took some getting used to to try and release them and in such close proximity to the side of the chassis handle too.
  • The seat has a padded cover with footmuff but compared to friends it didn’t seem as padded / supportive and therefore in winter wasn’t as snug and cosy too. Also I still haven’t managed to find a way to take the footmuff cover off to just leave the seat cover so even if my daughter doesn’t need the footmuff in certain weather, but would benefit from the seat cover the two can’t be separated and my daughter therefore sits on top of it and it isn’t as comfortable or attractive. (Looking at the pictures of the new style it looks like you can have a seat cover and no footmuff cover so that may have changed now?)
  • The pram cot in winter seemed a little less insulated once again as my friends did, their little ones seemed snug as bugs, with zipped covers and lots of padding, whilst I seemed to need to have to add lots of blankets and my cover not as snug or insulated.  The Babystyle Prestige range seems to have a lovely padded and insulated inner for its pram and something like this would have been great for the Babystle Oyster. The pram cot itself also seemed REALLY deep so maybe this is why it seemed less insulated, lots of room?
  • I find the pushchair seat strap covers hard to clean as they can’t be removed

Additional things to note:

  • I did have a lot of problems in the early days with my car seat getting stuck on the chassis!!! I had to carry a can of WD40 with me to help release the mechanism and get my daughter off the chassis to allow me to put her in the car! A bit stressful, esp in winter as it happened almost every time I went out for the first few weeks!!! However my sister also had a similar problem a couple of times with hers recently so I doubt this was a problem with the design or anything, more just a tightness of the new mechanism in either my chassis and / or car seat initially.
  • You can also get an Optional Ride on Board for toddlers, which is always a great idea!

All in all I have been happy with my Babystyle Oyster and would probably use it again if needed but I do think the i-Candy is also very worthy of a look as it was 2nd on my list and two of my friends had this and it looked a very nice, comfortable and snug travel system with some good features

Babystyle Oyster Dimensions >
• Seat area W30 x D26cm
• Fully reclined seat area L90 x W30cm
• Handle height (adjustable) Max 106cm, Min 94cm
• Width 56cm
• Length 83cm to 93cm depending on handle    position
• Folded stroller with wheels W56 x D40 x H75cm
• Folded stroller without wheels W50 x D31 X    H70cm
• Carrycot inside dimensions L77 x W30 x D22cm
• Wheel diameter (rear) 25cm, (front) 18cm

Babystyle Oyster Weights >
• Chassis with wheels 6.75kg
• Seat unit with hood 3.75kg
• Carrycot 4kg
• Stroller (chassis + seat) 10.5kg
• Pram (chassis + carrycot) 10.75kg

Disclaimer: No pushchair, pram or car seat were provided for this review. The product was purchased independently and all views are my own.

2 responses to “Babystyle Oyster Review

  1. […] been meaning to write this post for ages and intended to do shortly after I wrote the post about my Babystyle Oyster pushchair back in August, however due to feeling horrendous with this pregnancy I just never got round to […]

  2. […] seat easily clipped on and will probably still use it to some extent. My review can be found here. However a double buggy like the Baby Jogger City Mini Double is also in play for when I am out and […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

