A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

My little girl is not so little any more!

on August 2, 2012

It’s been a few weeks since I’ve posted, as I’ve been feeling a bit under the weather, tired and needed some time out so apologies to all my lovely followers for being AWOL for a while, I hope to resume normal service soon!

In the time out that I’ve had I’ve noticed such wonderful developments in my gorgeous little girl. She turns 2 next month and is developing into a real little character! A little person in her own right, with strong likes, dislikes and opinions! She tells me what she wants to wear and doesn’t want to wear, she tells me what she will and won’t eat and she tells me exactly when she’s not happy!!!

We had a lovely trip into town the other day! She refused to come into one store with me, instead finding something outside much more interesting, so I nipped in leaving her outside with my husband. I was only in the store 5 minutes and as I came down the escalator to the exit I heard a familiar sound echoing around the complex outside… yes it was my daughter having a hissy fit! A MAJOR hissy fit! It appears she wanted to run wild and head for nearby escalators, which hubby, understandably was having none of and it resulted in a battle!

Things eventually calmed down and all resorted back to normal. Later in our trip we came across a kiddies ride so decided to let her have a go. She was LOVING it, in her element! That was until the ride came to a stop and she had to get off to let other children have a go! A major tantrum erupted and resulted in us battling with a screaming, kicking child in public! We calmly removed her from the area of the ride and having most of our shopping decided to head back to the car. At the point in which we were desperately trying to calm her down my photography lecturer and his wife walked past! *cringe* I politely said hello and he smiled and carried on walking as fast as he could!!! lol! Of all the moments you can guarantee things happen when you least want them to and there’s always someone there you don’t want to see!!!

However, the positives as always outweigh the negatives…

She’s in her big girl bed now and loves it. We bought a Gro Stay on Duvet from The Gro Company and she is snug as a bug and we haven’t had any more tumbles out of the bed as the duvet snuggles her in securely at either side. She actually stays in it too! (here’s hoping it stays that way!)

Her language is coming on so well and she’s full of conversation and new words, ones I sometimes have no clue as to where they have come from such as Tortoise, Peacock and Seatbelt! Others that make me laugh, such as “That’s Mine!” or “Silly Mummy”. Tonight while crawling through her play tunnel she clearly and repeatedly counted from one to ten and I felt so proud of my little bundle! She’s a little sponge soaking everything up and translating it into her world, advancing forward all the time.

Saying this, I’ve also just been told that she is moving up in her nursery class for the first time too! A big change and step forward for her but one I am hoping she will love! I got told when I picked her up yesterday and we got taken along to see the new room and meet some of the team. Upon entering the room she took in her surroundings and soon let go of our hands and started investigating the new toys around her! So that seems a good start!

Watching the Olympics this week and seeing all the talented athletes I can’t help but wonder what path my little girl will choose, what she will be interested in and what she will excel in… the future is bright and I am so excited!

8 responses to “My little girl is not so little any more!

  1. Lisa @ hollybobbs says:

    Lovely to see you posting, sorry you’ve not been well but a great post about your little mite!

  2. Welcome back! Bb is just turned two it is Such a fab age x

  3. Louise says:

    They grow up so quickly don’t they? Hope you are feeling much better x

  4. Welcome back beautiful, been missing you! Sorry to hear you’ve been under the weather, hope you’re feeling better? BIG Mwah 🙂 xxx

I like comments, please leave me a reply

