A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

‘Great Garden Moments’ #GreatGardenMoments

on June 29, 2012

I recently saw via Attachment Mummy’s blog that Furniture Village are running a fab competition entitled “Great Garden Moments Competition” and after reading more I couldn’t resist taking part!

They’re giving away a beautiful new Cheltenham garden table and chairs set (worth £1,209), as well as £250 of Waitrose vouchers to enable one lucky winner to host the ultimate summer garden party.

All you have to do is share why you love your garden.

Well for me, I do love my garden, but initially only seeing our house as a stop-gap I didn’t spend as much time investing in the garden as I had at my previous house. My previous garden was landscaped from a bare square patch of grass to include a weatherstone patio, circular lawn with shrubs and plants around it and a circular top patio. We got sun ALL DAY long and weren’t overlooked. It was beautiful. We practically lived in our back garden and had some great get together’s with friends. I LOVED that garden.

My current garden is nice, but needs work and after deciding we are going to stay put a little longer we are gradually starting to invest more time in it (not that we hadn’t done anything initially) we are now just thinking of making bigger changes, such as removing an old water feature that was put in by the present owner and extending the patio.

In the early summer we got in March I visited a local garden centre and stocked up on more plants and really overhauled it after the it had been neglected somewhat over the cold winter months. I have to say it is really starting to look colourful and a whole lot improved already.

We had some time off in May and were lucky enought to get the red hot beautiful weather again! We bought our little girl a sand and water table to go with her slide and as the weather was beautiful we once again lived in the back garden for most of the day as you will see by my photos we had great fun.

The icing on the cake to our summer “Great Garden Moments” would be a fab patio set to replace my rickety one so we can sit as a family and really enjoy outdoor living… well my entry is in now for the “Great Garden Moments Competition”… now all I can do is hope!

Happy Summer one and all

x

23 responses to “‘Great Garden Moments’ #GreatGardenMoments

  1. Nikki Thomas says:

    Wow what beautiful flowers! We are attempting flowers and things other than grass this year as it is good for the kids to get involved in gardening but your garden sounds fab. Good luck xx

    • amummysview says:

      Thanks lovely. I need to dig out pics of my last garden, I adored it. This one does need work, we have trees that shadow a lot of our garden so sometimes it hinders the plants growing but we are getting there, each year gets better. My daughter has a little gardening set that we are encouraging her to play with, it’s very cute xxx

  2. Gorgeous- I only wish I could grow something half as nice… Love the garden, it’s on of my favourite places in my house (or out of my house!!) xx

    • amummysview says:

      Thanks lovely. Gardens are hard work but lovely once you reap the rewards. I think we had a good couple of years at least with poor plants when we first moved in as the soil was neglected etc but each year gets better now. x

  3. Tea&Biscotti says:

    Good luck Mrs, hope you win! We have such rubbish weather that a nicely done garden & lovely furniture to make it look all pretty would make such a difference. Fingers crossed.

  4. S j Thurley says:

    What a beautiful garden, gorgeous pictures too. Xxxxx

  5. My garden is pitiful at the moment, yours is looking lovely! Just need some lovely furniture to go in it 😉

  6. Sharon says:

    Its wonderful to see so much colour, we adore our garden and think children should spend as much time as they can outside playing and getting mucky. So its great to see your little one getting involved. Do you grow your own veg or herbs? We have encouraged our toddler to plant seeds and water them in. Its so wonderful to see their enthusiasm. Good luck for the comp x

    • amummysview says:

      aww what a fab idea. I have tried strawberries, tomatoes and spring onions in previous years but not since I found out I was pregnant with my daughter, you’ve inspired me to give it a go again xxx

  7. mummydaddyme says:

    Yours looks lovely, some garden furniture would just tip it over the edge and I bet it would be a beautiful place for your little one to hang out and grow up. Good luck! x

  8. What a beautiful garden you have. Love all the pretty flowers. It would make a truly fabulous showcase for some great new garden furniture. Good luck I hope you win. You deserve it. 🙂

  9. Beaut pix, love all those flowers! xxx

  10. Your garden looks gorgeous and I love the fairy garden sign. Really hope you win lovely, have my fingers and toes crossed for you xxxx

  11. Beautiful flowers and what a lovely garden for your little one – it looks like she loves the sand and water table 🙂

  12. […] benefits of music for young children and our morning out at a local Debuotots group, as well as my Great Garden Moments and Joy of Swimming competition entries and I was actually one of the chose winners following my […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

