A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Netmums United Kindmums – Knock on a Neighbour’s Door

on June 25, 2012

The latest United Kindmums step is to Knock on a Neighbour’s door and I am pleased to say I have done this twice recently.

The first time was to introduce myself to a new mum that had moved into the street and to invite her to my Yummy Mummy Coffee Morning I was holding in aid of CLIC Sargent. I didn’t know her but heard she had a little girl around my daughter’s age and thought it might be nice to get to know her. The move was a positive one and she came along and stayed, getting to know other mummy neighbours at the same time.

I also arranged a last minute jubilee street party with some of my mummy neighbours and I decided to let our other neighbours know (all 20+) and invite them to join in. Half a dozen families came a long and all the kids had a great time playing. It was fab to get to know the parents too. Everyone was really pleased that the event had been organised and came over to introduce themselves and say thank you. I think it provided a great opportunity to meet new people and we are already planning future events.

So… you see… it really can work! Why not give it a try? Join United Kindmums and Knock on a Neighbours Door… you may be pleasantly surprised with the result!

4 responses to “Netmums United Kindmums – Knock on a Neighbour’s Door

  1. I love this idea, may have to join in with this campaign myself! Your gesture for the Jubilee certainly worked because it looked like a packed and fun event from your photos! xxx

  2. I wish I had the confidence to do something like this, it’s great to hear about your successes.

I like comments, please leave me a reply

