A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

My Pregnancy Story – Part 3 – The Second Trimester

on May 30, 2012

My Pregnancy Story – Part 1

My Pregnancy Story – Part 2

So the first trimester was behind us, the 12 week scan complete and we’d shouted it from the roof tops. The second trimester certainly was a busy one and brought with it lots of fun!

This trimester included my sister’s hen party (April 2010), one that I was organising, with her other heavily pregnant bridesmaid! Bet everyone thought it was going to be a barrel of t-total laughs! However we pulled out all the stops though and had a wicked time in Edinburgh. Costumes, party bags, restaurants, activities, accommodation, travel, we did it all for a dozen girlies and were very proud but very shattered by the end of it! I think my daughter was scarred for life before she was born though listening to my sister on the karaoke for two hours! She was bouncing around inside my tummy like crazy, which went rock solid in shock! I actually bowed out at the clubbing and headed back to the hotel with my mum and best friend who had come along for support.

(May 2010) With the hen do over and my sister’s wedding fast approaching it was time for my Bridesmaid dress fitting. Luckily I had bought the dress a couple of sizes bigger then I needed but as the weeks wore on I was a little panicked that room was getting tighter and tighter. I wasn’t entirely convinced that there was much more material to “let out”. I had visions of my sister going mad at me! However, I just made it by the time the day came. It was a beautiful day and we got great weather for it. My sister looked gorgeous and her rather bold and bright colour scheme worked amazingly well and looked stunning! I was five months pregnant on the day and the other bridesmaid was seven months! It was very long but we made it through. The only panic was when I left my reading in the wedding car and realised once we were all in the church and the service was under way! It was baby brain of course that made this happen! I had to send my hubby dashing out to get it for me and he arrived back with less than 15 seconds to spare, the look of sheer fear captured on my face during the first half of the service was classic. I am good at ad-libbing but not that good! However, that aside it all went well, but whilst I am usually the life and soul of the party, with bad hips, bad back, swollen feet and a big bump I took to the dance floor a couple of times but did retreat to the bar and big comfy chairs at the end of the evening, leaving many of our family and friends to continue to dance into the small hours.

I also discovered the joys of nearly new fairs during this time! They are amazing! There’s a one held near to us twice a year in aid of charity and some of the things you can pick up are great, never worn clothes, still tagged for a couple of pounds, toys in immaculate good working condition, for the time that kids are in these clothes or play with the toys, you can’t go wrong. I went to my first baby fair during my second trimester with my mum and dad and picked up a Fisher Price Rainforest Bouncer for less than half the price I would have paid new, and it became a god send in helping to settle my little girl when she was born.  I also got a fab ergonomic bath seat too, which was brilliant for when my little girl got bigger.

I must say however I went to one of our local NCT baby sales (as did some friends) and we all couldn’t get out quick enough, it was chaos! A cramped, jumble sale free for all, I haven’t been back to one since but love going to this other one I have found, it’s much more spacious, organised and you can see who you are buying from too.

It was during my second trimester that I also heard there was a baby fair being held in my local town and that Water Babies were going to be there so I couldn’t wait to go along and find out more. I found the event really interesting, there were lots of different companies there, from those offering services to those selling products. I signed my little girl up to Water Babies straight away (well I was told there was a huge waiting list after all so being on it before you born is a head start!) as I always knew it was something I wanted to do with her, I also bought a Gro bag sleeping bag (the best invention ever!) and a fab Cuddle Dry cow print towel that has a nifty clip that allows the towel to be essentially worn by you so you can lift your little one out of the bath, against you and wrap them up nice and warm and dry. This was brilliant for me with my hip and back problems as it kept the towel close to me but allowed me to use my hands to steady myself when getting up and hold my little girl. I also came across a company promoting Aloe Vera drinks and got talking to them about my hips etc. They recommended I try one of their products and said it would really help me, so me being me I bought a bloody great big jug of the stuff. All I can say is, I am one to give anything a go but oh my god this stuff made me gag! Needless to say, it unfortunately went to waste and my hips stayed painful!

One of my very good friends also had a little girl during my second trimester and I was over the moon (April 2010) to meet little S, she was gorgeous and I couldn’t believe that the little bump in my tummy would soon be here in my arms too and, in time, that they would be playing together! It was so exciting! Little S was the first of 6 babies that I knew of at the time that were en-route within the coming 6 months, it was lovely to think that “mini” would have so many new little friends and I would know so many people going thorugh the same thing at the same time.

I have been hugely lucky to also have friends who had had children already and very very kindly passed clothes on to me, so much so I had bin bags full and drawers full! My little girl almost had an outfit for every day of her first year and I had to politely tell people that their generosity was very kind but I definitely had enough for her at that point! However… ahem… despite being inundated with baby clothes I still couldn’t help a few sneaky outfits in the sales, just to say they were ones I had personally picked out.

Becoming a new parent means all sorts of new contraptions and gadgets as well. A trip to Mothercare and Mamas and Papas with hubby to get an idea of what we may need was frankly hysterical, I really wish we could have got CCTV from the store. EVERYTHING, and I mean EVERYTHING we touched either fell over or fell apart. We were like two chimps trying to work out how high chairs and travel cots worked, with very little success! We however finally decided on our nursery furniture and ordered it from Mamas and Papas, I was very excited! Hubby not so much so as it meant losing his beloved office!

With the nursery furniture bought I went into major nesting mode, I suddenly wanted the house immaculate, doors and skirting boards painted, garages and sheds cleaned out, cupboards and drawers emptied of all those things you never use. I drove my husband insane!!! I actually had a list of everything that needed doing and step by step points as to when I wanted it done by… ok can I blame it on the hormones???!!! However it worked and kept us on track. You don’t realise how much clutter you accumulate and how much space you need. We gradually dug out what had been the office and dumping ground and began turning it into our little girl’s nursery. It was so exciting! My friend very kindly offered to paint us a mural too, she is very talented. I knew I wanted it complete by the end of July just to know it was done, and considering she came the beginning of Sept and we were on holiday in August I am pretty glad I set that goal!

However the highlight had to be the 20 week scan (May 2010) and suddenly seeing (and hearing!) a much bigger, actual baby looking back at you and bouncing about happily. The run up to the scan was daunting, was the baby still ok? would they find anything wrong? The hospital we go to doesn’t have a screen so that the mum can see what’s happening so I told my hubby to take in as much as possible to relay back to me and to enjoy the experience and looking at his face when that screen went on I certainly knew he was very happy indeed. He was in total awe, staring in amazement and later told me just how much he could see, even inside our baby’s head and down the spinal column, it blew him away. After an anxious 20 – 30 minutes of me laid watching my hubby and the sonographer’s faces and desperately trying to work out what they were seeing and thinking, the sonographer smiled and confirmed all was ok and asked if we wanted to know the sex, to which we nodded excitedly. “Well, baby is playing up a bit but to the best of my knowledge and from what I can see I would say it’s a little girl” she said. Hubby and I knew it, we just knew it! We were over the moon! From the day we had first met we always pictured we would have a little girl, from the 12 week scan, we just knew it was a little girl and now we knew that little bit more. The sonographer asked us if we would like a picture to which I excitedly said yes please! However it was at this point that little “mini” decided to show her stubborn side and curled into a tight ball. The more the lady tried, the tighter she got! So… whilst I would love to end this part of my little story by sharing a fab 20 week scan pic with you… I’m afraid that’s all folks!

Until next time! 😉

5 responses to “My Pregnancy Story – Part 3 – The Second Trimester

  1. mummydaddyme says:

    I love reading about people’s pregnancies- and I love love love your nursery, it is gorgeous. x

  2. […] My Pregnancy Story – Part 3 […]

  3. […] My Pregnancy Story – Part 1My Pregnancy Story – Part 2My Pregnancy Story – Part 3 […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

