A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

“No!”, Tears, Tantrums and Mischief #TerribleTwosday

on May 15, 2012

Well, I can’t believe that Tuesday’s here again and I have ANOTHER Terrible Twosday post to add!

The last couple of weeks have been challenging. My little girl is really trying to assert herself. Everything is “NO” or even when it’s “yes” it’s then wrong.

For example, she loves Driver Dan, goes on about it all day so when it comes to 6pm and we have her ready for bed and settled you would think she would be in her element when it comes on CBeebies? Oh no… well normally yes, but this last week it’s had the opposite effect. The theme tune starts and her head starts shaking frantically and she starts repeating those immortal words “no, no, no” then the tears start, followed sometimes by hysteria. However strangely after a couple of minutes, often not even that, the tears have stopped and she’s staring at the telly avidly… huh???!!!

This week she’s also been on top form in both the tantrum stakes and the mischief stakes.

Whilst doing my Spring Clean in the kitchen the other day I left my daughter playing as normal in the living room and kept popping my head round the corner to check on her (when she wasn’t popping in the kitchen to help me that is).

On one of my peeks into the living room I was greeted by this…

Yes, that is an entire pack of wipes taken out of the nappy bag and scattered in the doorway, not to mention half her toy box and books scattered across the room. Note to Self: Make sure the nappy bag is FULLY zipped up in future!

Then today, on our trip to buy her some new shoes (her feet haven’t grown since last September) she had the most amazing meltdown. You would actually think we were taking her to have her feet removed, not buy a new pair of sparkly new shoes!

It’s not the first time she’s been to the shoe shop, it’s not the first time she has had her feet measured, but for some reason she took an instant dislike the minute we walked through the shop door this time! The poor sales assistant looked a little scared, he was only young bless him but he put on a brave face as he tried to hold our wailing and flailing daughter’s foot to measure it!

When the sales assistant went off to get some shoes for us to try (why do they only ever have one or two styles in stock???) she appeared fine and calmed down climbing on and off the square stool. However the minute he returned the hysteria started again. As he unveiled the shiny new shoes (with flashing lights in the heel I might add) my daughter burst into tears again, retreating backwards from us as we tried to place them on her feet and shaking her head shouting “no” as we managed to finally get them on!

We stood her up and showed her her sparkly new shoes in the mirror, pointing out the nifty flashing lights, but not even they won the day! She pointed at and grabbed her old, scuffed and worn shoes longingly and sobbed and sobbed.

“Don’t worry” said the female sales assistant across the room, “It’s perfectly normal, they get very attached to their old shoes, it happens frequently”, she said smiling. A lady with her added “She’s not as bad as my grandson was yesterday, I had to leave we didn’t even get the shoes on!”

Well all I can say is I’m glad I’m not alone!

The end result was us paying up quickly and leaving the store with a dribbling, hysterical and very snotty child!

It’s been a long, long week, oh wait, it’s only Tuesday…..

Terrible Twosday is hosted by the lovely Crumby Mummy why not stop by and share your “moments”

4 responses to ““No!”, Tears, Tantrums and Mischief #TerribleTwosday

  1. Wowzers, a little lady that doesn’t like new shoes – I’d find a way to use that to your advantage in the future!!!

    Toddler’s are so confusing! Mine does a lot of this at the moment:

    Me: “Would you like a yoghurt?”
    TT: “No”
    Me: “Ok”
    TT: (shouting) “I want a yoghurt!!!”
    Me: “Oh you do want a yoghurt!”
    TT: “No, don’t want yoghurt”

    AAAAGGGGGGHHHHH!!!

  2. Charlotte says:

    I am so sorry that I wasn’t here for our Twosday therapy session. Feel free to link this post up tomorrow. I can’t believe she didn’t want any new shoes! Not a girl after my own heart! ;0) I was also hoping that they grew out of the pulling wipes out stage but obviously not! Hope you are well hon! I have sent you a tweet as I’m confused about your twitter account. Not sure if you have been cloned! :0) x

  3. […] “No!”, Tears, Tantrums and Mischief #TerribleTwosday (amummysview.wordpress.com) Rate this:Share this:TwitterFacebookStumbleUponPinterestLike this:LikeBe the first to like this. […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

