A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Not always easy being a disabled mum

on April 17, 2012

So it’s days like today and frankly the last week that make me realise it’s not always going to be easy being a mummy.

It’s not because I’ve been kept awake during the night, it’s not having to deal with a temper tantrum or an illness, it’s actually me!

I was born with a disability which affects my mobility and it has deteriorated in recent years. I have good days and bad but on days like today and this week it makes me realise how much I can rely on my husband and family for support at times.

I’m managing but the old peg leg is a little sore at present and walking, especially up and down the stairs is a little painful, not easy when my little girl wants carrying too (cue me encouraging her to join me in a bum shuffle down the stairs, making it into a game when it is in fact for my own pain threshold!) She’s too young to understand now but hopefully in time she will.

Prior to having my little girl I could use my crutches and since having her I have been using her pushchair as a zimmer frame when I need to I guess! However there are times now that she is mobile when I don’t have the buggy but I need to keep hold of her and carry something else and crutches just aren’t an option and that’s when problems can arise. Because of this I today avoided our weekly arts session that we both love so much, I was gutted, but a lovely friend of mine and her little girl came over for a coffee and a natter so that was nice and didn’t make me feel like I was just sat. My hubby also came home from work early and has been a star preparing meals for the next few days and helping where necessary.

I can be strong-willed and tend to push through my situation and this in turn means I can tend to forget my own limitations sometimes and even make my pain worse. However today has made me realise it’s not always going to be easy to be a playmate and super mum when feeling like this, but I will continue to do my best and like throughout my life I will adapt and find new ways of doing things.

I guess I am lucky to have a good support network around me and I count my blessings for that… I also hope that growing up with a mummy that has a disability my little girl will learn to be more understanding and accepting of others as I have.

7 responses to “Not always easy being a disabled mum

  1. Mammasaurus says:

    I totally admire your strong will to carry on through the pain and be a super mother. It sounds liek you have a lovely support network who care a great deal for you x

  2. Cassie says:

    I think you have a beautiful attitude towards your situation. And handle it amazingly (making going down the stairs a game! Genius!) I bet your child will learn the same strength from you!

    • amummysview says:

      Thank you so much that is so kind. I really hope so. I know being in and out of hospital when I was younger and meeting people in worse situations than myself made me a lot more tolerant and understanding of people compared to some people I knew. x

  3. Julie says:

    Sounds like your coping well, I am a Rheumatoid Arthritis suffer so I too have good & bad days but I am in the camp of what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger and in turn hopefully will create caring, tolerant children.

    xxx

    • amummysview says:

      I couldn’t agree more! Thanks for taking the time to comment. My grandma and a friend had / have Rheumatoid Arthritis and I know how bad it can get. I guess we find our way of working around these problems and you are right it does create stronger people and hopefully in-turn we will have a positive impact on our children
      x

  4. […] post – Not always easy being a disabled mum sums up how things can be and how life is a little different now I have a little girl to look after […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

