A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Oh My Lord What Just Happened???

on April 10, 2012

So as you will see from my post entitled Mummy Poo Poo Wee Wee Argh!!! I am heading for the lovely potty training phase. My little girl has started uttering the immortal words “poo poo” “wee wee” although not always at the exact moment if you get what I mean. Neverthless I thought I should buy the required items so I had them to hand if needed but didn’t expect that to be for quite a while!

I put the potty in my daughter’s room so she could get used to it being around and told her that it was a big girl’s toilet for her to poo poo and wee wee on when she was ready. In the meantime I sat dolly on it and said dolly was having a wee wee. OK I hear you giggling, I don’t know why, I haven’t read any of the chapters on potty training yet and frankly I am clueless! I thought it may be a good idea to show her!

Anyway, after bathtime tonight my little angel walked into her bedroom, removed dolly from the potty and sat down on it. “Oh clever girl are you going to have a wee wee?” I said, not remotely expecting anything, and then to my amazement she nodded and after a few seconds stood up and there was in fact a wee wee!  I was gobsmacked!

Hubby is at work so I was in the house on my own feeling rather over excited at this amazing first that had just happened! I kind of had to celebrate on my own with my daughter looking at her mummy giggling with delight in a rather confused and bewildered manner!

I gave her a huge hug and told her what a clever girl she was and how she had done a big girl thing and we headed downstairs for bottle and CBeebies Bedtime hour.

When we went up to bed after we had brushed our teeth and had a bedtime story I casually said to her “Do you need another wee wee before bed?” Not remotely expecting her to say yes. However she nodded so I said “Do you want to wee wee on the potty?” and she again nodded so I placed her on it and to my astonishment she again went to the toilet on the potty!

I am frankly quite giddy with delight but also freaking out! I am really impressed that she has picked this up with little guidance, but am also now panicking about how I keep this up, what happens when we go out? Oh my god help me!!!

I am in fact off to read that chapter that I have casually skipped over for so long but I really had to share this hysteria with you as I am sat here on my own and cracking up!

6 responses to “Oh My Lord What Just Happened???

  1. Well done that girl! 🙂 I have no hints on potty training as I pretty much left it up to nursery for both my girls – first was 2yr3months & second was 2yr10months, ready before but I left it until she went back to nursery where she got it within a week!

    Sounds like a great start, just keep doing what you’re doing! Don’t be discouraged if it goes back and forth for a while. My 5yr old still has accidents when too involved in something to want to leave, or when she’s anxious.

    • amummysview says:

      Aww thanks lovely, I was stunned! She’s not two yet wasn’t expecting that! I am sure it won’t be that easy going forward and will no doubt be the focus of a few of my posts but guess it’s a start. Thanks for the comment. Hope you are well and had a nice easter. xxx

  2. What a little star you have there, such a clever girl 🙂 Here’s hoping she keeps it up! I’m dreading potty training with monkey, i mean how are you supposed to keep their dinky pointing in the right place? lol! xxxx

    • amummysview says:

      lol! Oh my! No idea! I was well chuffed, mind you she hasn’t been since and I have just had a huge explosive nappy there before bathtime! so who knows?! I have been at work though so hard to keep on top of it x

  3. […] I recently posted Oh My Lord What Just Happened?! my post into my first potty experience with my little […]

  4. […] I recently posted Oh My Lord What Just Happened?! my post into my first potty experience with my little […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

