A Mummys View

Telling it like it is

Netmums Call for United Kindmums

on March 19, 2012

If there’s a mantra that I live by it would be to care for others and treat others as I would wish to be treated myself. That’s why I love Netmum’s new United Kindmums campaign.

In today’s austerity Britain a lot of people are struggling, some more than others and in many different ways. Netmums is calling on mums across the UK to unite by making small changes to their lives in order to make bigger changes to others, with a view to creating a kindness culture

The United Kindmums campaign will see Netmums each month signposting a simple United Kindmums action that you can easily do to make a big change.  The actions will range from little things you can do from the comfort of your chair to bigger actions that might mean leaving your home.

How You Can Become Part of United Kindmums

Smile. Find something every day that makes you smile or even better laugh.

Little things matter. Never underestimate how much a small act of kindness will mean to another person, a friendly smile, a chat in the school playground or toddler group can make someone else’s day.

Stop judging. Be accepting of the way others parent and don’t be so harsh on yourself.

Pay it forward. Help someone who needs you whether it’s another parent, a member of your family or a complete stranger. It’ll make them feel good and you too.

Netmums suggest there are three things you can do right now to make start on your path to being a United Kindmum

Random Act of Kindness

A random act of kindness is doing something selfless for someone else. It could be as simple as talking to a lonely looking mum at the school gates or a toddler group or buying a coffee for the person in the queue behind you.

Paying it Forward

Paying it forward is all about repaying a kind act that someone has done for you. If a stranger or someone you know does something nice for you rather than ‘paying them back’ instead, pay it forward doing something nice for someone else.

Life’s Simple Pleasures

Appreciating the simple things in life makes us grateful for what we have.

My random act of kindness for today was not taking for granted the fact that my mum was cooking sunday dinner for us all on Mother’s Day, I brought dessert to the table for us all, one of life’s simple pleasures and a random act of kindness. I’ve also this week offered to help two people starting out in business using some of my knowledge that could be put to good use to help them on their way and last week I held a coffee morning in aid of CLIC Sargent to help children in need and invited a new mummy neighbour to welcome her to the street and meet others. So without feeling too smug I am feeling good that I can commit to Netmum’s campaign, although I know I won’t have a week like this every week!!!!!

I will be aiming to post any further updates here on my blog as I see fit but why not share with me any actions you have taken by commenting below??? In the meantime why not head a long to the Netmums site now and learn more about the campaign

3 responses to “Netmums Call for United Kindmums

  1. […] Netmums Call for United Kindmums (amummysview.wordpress.com) Rate this: Share this:TwitterFacebookLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]

  2. […] Netmums Call for United Kindmums (amummysview.wordpress.com) […]

  3. […] some wonderful causes, such as Blogitforbabies, ONE Thrive Food. Farming. Future Campaign and Netmums United Kindmums to mention a few. I also joined forces with the lovely Tea & Biscotti to launch and […]

I like comments, please leave me a reply

